A Cup of Tea, Heavenly Comfort

A Cup of Tea, Heavenly Comfort
By Phena Catherine Taylor

When you’re weary and you’re fagged,
And life scarcely seems worthwhile,
When you have become discouraged,
You hardly dare to smile.
When things are set against you,
And you’re blue as blue can be,
There’s a heavenly bit of comfort,
In a good hot cup of tea.

When the ice man breaks the ice box,
And the water man is cross.
The grocer sends you vegetables,
That are a total loss,
And the butcher has a jag on.
Sends you meat tough as can be,
There’s a heavenly bit of comfort,
In a good hot cup of tea.

When the hens scratch up my garden,
The pup gets in the paint,
When the wind blows down my woodpile,
And I am feeling faint.
When I take a sudden notion,
That the world is down on me,
I hike off to the kitchen,
For a good hot cup of tea.

tea

From “The Gateway of the North”, Phena Catherine Taylor
Capital Printers, Vancouver BC. No date of publication but probably during the war years (1939-45) as the book was dedicated to her son overseas in the RCAF. The poetry suggests that she lived in Northern Manitoba.

About Linda C Butler

I write pioneer stories from the Herb Lake Ghost Town in Manitoba. Please do not re-blog this material or re-publish without my permission.
This entry was posted in History, Quotes, Vance Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Cup of Tea, Heavenly Comfort

  1. Sounds like a great idea! Maybe I’ll brew one now. 🙂

Leave a comment